logos07 - copia.png
 

REGISTER HERE / REGÍSTRATE AQUÍ

In order to participate in the webinar, registration is required.

The day before each webinar, registered attendees will receive the Zoom link and password by email.

They should avoid forwarding this information to non-registered potential participants.

Para participar en el webinar, es necesario darse de alta.

Los participantes registrados recibirán el día anterior a cada webinar el enlace Zoom y la contraseña para asistir al seminario. Se ruega no difundir esta información a potenciales asistentes no registrados.

 

The rules that universities are implementing for academic activities in the coming months contemplate strong limitations for events that bring together a high number of attendees, such as seminars. At the same time, the uncertainty about new possible outbreaks of Covid-19 and the ensuing restrictions on international mobility make it extremely difficult to plan face-to-face seminars both for organizers and invited speakers.

In order to preserve academic contacts and enhance the dissemination of research in this unprecedented context of uncertain duration, economic historians from Universitat de Barcelona, ​​Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, El Colegio de México and the Universidad de la República, Uruguay, decided to launch a regular webinar dedicated to the presentation and discussion of research papers on the economic history of the Latin American and Iberian world.

We believe that in Latin America as well as in Europe and the US there exists a critical mass of research projects and a wide potential audience (not limited to the academic world) interested in their results that guarantees the success of this initiative.

  • Stefano Battilossi (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)

  • Luis Bertola (Universidad de la República, Uruguay)

  • Alfonso Herranz-Loncán (Universitat de Barcelona)

  • Sandra Kuntz-Ficker (El Colegio de México)


Schedule

The webinar meets in Zoom on Fridays every second week with the following schedules:

-4:00 pm CET (GMT+1) (Continental Europe)

-3:00 pm GMT (Canary Islands, Portugal, UK)

-12:00 pm GMT-3 (Argentina, east of Brazil, Uruguay)

-11:00 am AST (GMT-4) (Bolivia, west of Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Dominican Republic, Venezuela)

-10:00 am EST (GMT-5) (east coast of Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, east coast of USA, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama, Peru)

-9:00 am CST (GMT-6) (center and west of Canada, center and east of México, rest of Central América, center of USA)

-8:00 am MST (GMT-7) (west of Mexico, center and west of USA)

-7:00 am PST (GMT-8) (pacific coast of Canada, USA and Mexico)

Attention: countries that do not adopt DST (Daylight Summer Time) should take into account that the change over to winter time will take place on October 25th, 2020 in Europe and Mexico, and on November 1st, 2020 in the USA. For instance, in Argentina, east of Brazil and Uruguay seminars will be scheduled at 11:00 am local time in September and October.


Format

Each seminar has a maximum duration of one hour, with 40 minutes devoted to speakers’  presentation and the rest of time for questions. Each session has a moderator. Attendees can ask questions in writing in the chat and the moderator will be in charge of filtering and forwarding them to the speaker.


Language

We will follow a flexible approach. Speakers will choose the language in which they prefer to present. Questions can be asked in Spanish, Portuguese or English. The language of the presentation will be communicated before each webinar.


PROGRAMME (first semester 2020-21)


-September 18, 2020:

Oscar Calvo and Germán Caruso (World Bank)

“What do 50 years of census records and household survey data tell us about human opportunities and welfare in Latin America?”

ATTENTION: THIS SEMINAR IS SCHEDULED ONE HOUR LATER THAN USUAL,

AT 5:00 PM CET (4:00 PM GMT)


-October 2, 2020:

Felipe González (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)

"Chile's missing students: Dictatorship, higher education and social mobility"


-October 16, 2020:

Aldo Elizalde (University of Glasgow)

“Public good or public ‘bad’? Indigenous institutions, nation-building, and the demand for road infrastructure in Mexico”


-October 30, 2020:

Manuel Llorca-Jaña (Universidad de Valparaíso)

“Interpersonal violence in Chile, c.1880s-2010s: A tale of delayed but successful convergence”


-November 13, 2020:

Andrea Papadia (University of Bonn)

TBA

-November 27, 2020:

Aurora Gómez-Galvarriato (El Colegio de México)

“Las causas del atraso: La tecnología de la molienda del nixtamal y la elaboración de tortillas de maíz”


-December 11, 2020:

Marc Morgan (Paris School of Economics)

TBA

 
Virtual Team Meeting

WEBINAR IN IBERO-AMERICAN ECONOMIC HISTORY

...

 
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 por WEBINAR IN IBERO-AMERICAN ECONOMIC HISTORY. Creada con Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now